sage and thyme

14 Nov

Sage and thyme are probably my favorite herbs. They are amazing and very “fall.” Thanksgiving is coming up next week and I wanted to make something that incorporated my favorite flavors. So I made thyme and sage stuffed chicken breast and a relish/compote to go along with it. Also, a nice and easy recipe for chicken stock. It’s getting to that season where everyone and their mother is sick, so make this, freeze some, use some for soups, stews, whatever have you. It’s really awesome to just make your own stock. It’s full of calcium, vitamins, minerals and lots of good for you yumminess!

Thanksgiving is pretty much the BEST holiday ever. All you do is cook and eat. AND remember what you are thankful for, which for me is so much. How could anyone go wrong, really? This year, I don’t have any Thanksgiving plans. Since my family lives on opposite sides of the country and I’m in grad school, I think it’ll just be me and Dexter Doodles the poodle chilling this year. But don’t worry, I’ll spoil that dog rotten with a Thanksgiving feast. Don’t think that just because it may only be me and the dog that I won’t cook a massive Thanksgiving. If you think that’s the truth, you don’t know me very well! I like cooking big meals, and more importantly, cooking for others. I cook like my Mom. Growing up it was my Mom, my brother and I and she cooked like we were a family of 20! I tend to be the same way. If someone that was cute, could make me laugh and would let me cook for them all the time came around, I’d be a happy girl! (and that boy would be stuffed to the gills with yummy food  haha!) Here’s to cooking!

SAGE AND THYME STUFFED CHICKEN BREAST WITH HERBED COMPOTE

  • 2 large bone-in chicken breasts
  • 1 stick of unsalted butter (yes, 1 stick, deal with it), softened to room temperature
  • 4 stalks of celery
  • 1 onion
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 1 tablespoon dried sage
  • 10 sprigs of fresh thyme
  • 1 tablespoon fresh thyme
  • 1.5 tablespoons fresh sage leaves
  • 4 sage sprigs
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon pepper
  • salt and pepper to taste for chicken

Heat your oven to 350 degrees. Take both chicken breasts and reach your hands under the skin to loosen it. Take 2 tablespoons of butter and slide it under the skin, rubbing it into the flesh of the chicken. Salt and pepper your chicken and then slide 2 sage twigs and 5 thyme twigs under the skin. Salt and pepper again in necessary. Do this for both chicken breasts. Drizzle with olive oil and put in the oven. Bake for about 40 minutes or so until the skin is golden brown and then flesh temperature is at 162 degrees. Then let the chicken rest to cook to an even 165 degrees. NOTE: Kerrygold Grass Fed Butter is AWESOME! You can find it even at Trader Joe’s!

While the chicken is cooking, dice your onion and celery. Add 3 tablespoons of butter, or whatever is left from your stick, into a large skillet. Melt the butter and add your veggies. Cook until soft while adding your salt, pepper, fresh thyme, fresh sage, chopped and diced, and your dried sage. Taste to see if you need more seasoning. Add your raisins and cook until warmed through and the veggies are soft. NOTE: This could be an AMAZING start to a cornbread, glutten-free or non-gluten free stuffing of your choice; or gravy for your chicken.

Once your chicken is ready, top with the compote and eat! YUM! I made this with a side of steamed, then roasted, broccoli and candied carrots which are both super easy. For the carrots you peel and dice up your carrots into large chunks. Then you boil them until tender. Drain them and as they drain, take 2 tablespoons of butter, 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1 teaspoon of black pepper and let it all melt into a sauce. Toss your carrots back in and there you go! I used to call this “carrots with chicken juice” when I was a kid for whatever reason so sometimes I make them alongside chicken! For roasted broccoli, you just steam broccoli until it’s nice and bright green, al dente. Then drizzle it with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper on a sheet pan, roast under the broiler until still bright green, but a little crispy and done!

While eating, count what you’re thankful for as well! I am thankful for my friends, my dog, my health, my job, my family, my ability to go back to school, NATURE, trees, gardens, love, and knowing that anything is possible if you set your goals high!

CHICKEN STOCK

  • 1 whole chicken carcass, or whatever bones you have left from roasting bone in chicken breasts
  • lots of water, to cover, depending on the size of your stock pot
  • 1 whole head of garlic
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • sprigs of fresh thyme
  • sprigs of fresh sage
  • 1 onion
  • 4 celery stalks
  • 1/2 bag of baby carrots or whatever carrots you have
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon pepper

Roughly chop your veg, so basically, cut your onion in half, your garlic head in half, and your celery stalks in half. Place all of the ingredients listed in a stock pot and cover with water. Place on high to boil, then reduce to a low simmer. Simmer for 8-24 hours (I leave mine on overnight), skimming the fat off the top for the first couple of hours.

Once done, drain through a mesh strainer into another large stock pot or a couple large bowls. Then put in mason jars, or another container, and freeze! You can use this for anything and it’ll have amazing flavor!

2 Responses to “sage and thyme”

  1. thisadventurouslife November 15, 2012 at 12:18 am #

    Natalie, thanks for sharing these recipes! Ever since Cayle and I have become “mammal free” we are running out of ways to enjoy chicken. This recipe sounds fresh, easy and delicious. When we return from India I plan on trying it and will let you know how it goes. Cheers, little lady!

    • cupcakebella March 19, 2013 at 2:45 pm #

      I JUST saw this! Of course! I’m especially trying to post more now! I need to get cracking on this cooking! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Cinderle's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

chicagoplayproject

Just another WordPress.com site

oliveyounannyblog

Just another WordPress.com site

In Pitch

Words from a working girl

ProKine Performance

Move like a PRO.

Fit For Real Life

Body. Mind. Movement.

