bacon and kale, a heavenly combo

17 Oct

What is better than KALE and BACON!? Nothing really. The flavor combination, good for you ingredients and just the amazing versatility is the BEST! Kale and bacon on their own, sautéed together is yummy, but add other yummy veggies and you have a breakfast flavor explosion!

This week I’ve been trying to make meals that I can eat for a few days. It’s just easier that way to get home around 7pm and heat up something yummy. Today I decided to make a breakfast with the massive amounts of kale I had. May as well use it right!? Because I definitely have more in the refrigerator!

On a random note, can you believe how much it is to get your nails done!? I got a mani/pedi today, the no chip mani for my little brother’s wedding, and for that, the pedi and tip it was $90! Sheesh! This mani better look good for WEEKS! It does look nice though, and my toes look good and your brother only gets married once, so may as well go all out! But wow. But all this beauty prep is fun. I’m a total tomboy. Hoodies and leggings. Hoodies and leggings. So I’m excited I got my nails done and I am super pumped to get my hair done for the wedding! I haven’t had “semi long” hair in a long time! So it’ll be fun. It’s going to be a great weekend and I can’t wait! It’ll be so fun to see my family all together and see my little brother get married!

So anyways, enough beauty prep talk. Let’s talk breakfast!

KALE AND BACON FRITTATA WITH ZUCCHINI

  • 9 eggs
  • 4 tablespoons freshly grated parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon hot sauce
  • 1/2 lb bacon (about 8 slices)
  • an entire container of organic pre-washed kale (about 4 cups or so total)
  • 1 medium zucchini, chopped and cubed
  • 1 garlic clove, minced

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. In a medium sized cast iron skillet, or pan, cube your bacon and toss in the pan. Cook until crispy. Add your zucchini, hotsauce and garlic and make sure it cooks through a bit.

Next add your kale, in 3 batches, sautéing down until just dark green and more can fit in the pan. Whisk your eggs with 2 tablespoons cheese, salt and pepper. Turn heat off of your burner and pour egg mixture over the veg and bacon. Mix a bit then top with the remaining 2 tablespoons of cheese and toss in your oven. Cook until the middle is set. Next, turn your broiler on high and crisp the cheese and top “crust” until bubbly and golden brown. Let cool a bit and serve! You can eat this as breakfast, lunch OR dinner! YUM!

Leave a Reply

Cinderle's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

chicagoplayproject

Just another WordPress.com site

oliveyounannyblog

Just another WordPress.com site

In Pitch

Words from a working girl

ProKine Performance

Move like a PRO.

Fit For Real Life

Body. Mind. Movement.

