veggie pesto “flatbread” and yummy yummies

11 Sep

Ever feel like you REALLY need some veggies? After this last weekend with all the birthday festivities, I not only needed some MAJOR veggie time, but I needed some serious detoxing. Thank goodness I just brewed a huge batch of delicious kombucha and it was all ready for me to drink this morning! All bottled and delicious. Ever try kombucha? You should. Particularly brewing your own since its uber expensive at the store.

It’s been a weird day. I’ve had some strange conversations today, but all in all everything happens for a reason right? It’s weird going on interviews and talking about yourself and your experiences. I think I’ve conveyed that I am a good nanny, cook, child care provider, friend, administrative personality, organizational and cleanliness advocate, active, healthy and fun advocate and early childhood graduate student about 75 million times over the last two weeks. Makes you think a lot more about what you’ve accomplished when you are job hunting, ya know? I’ve definitely accomplished a lot and I am glad to be where I am at. This whole “30” thing has really been a GIANT self-reflection period and time where I am finally putting my needs first, or at least up there, for once. GO ME!

So, as the job hunt continues so I can further my experience for my future career with BABIES (yay!), I decided this week I am going to do lots of yummy veggie recipes. I noticed this blog has been very “comfort food” lately. So why not throw a new spin on another favorite comfort food, but make it all veggie goodness!

That’s right folks, PIZZA! Pizza has been something I’ve never really DIED for or loved, but yesterday I had this weird pizza craving for some reason so today I tried to make my own and make it super healthy by trying my hand at cauliflower crust and oh my goodness gracious it’s to die for! Try it, I dare you. You may never go back to your old gluteny wheat pizza crust again!

VEGGIE VEG SUPER VEG PIZZA

Ingredients for the crust:

  • 1 head of cauliflower (you’ll need 3 cups, so a medium sized head should work)
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1 cup of flax seed meal (you can get Bob’s Red Mill just about anywhere)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 tablespoon dried parsley (Penzey’s is the BEST!)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees. “Rice” your cauliflower. Which means, chop that puppy up and put it in the food processer (plus the garlic cloves)! Pulse until it’s about the size of rice. Nifty fact: you can use cauliflower as rice in any dish! Just chop it up like this and steam it a bit for rice as a regular rice substitute! Take the cauliflower and put it in a bowl, add all of the other ingredients and mix! Now this is going to feel/look weird, but don’t worry, it’ll be yummy. After all the ingredients are mixed well, line a large baking sheet with parchment paper. OR use a brown paper bag and spray it with cooking spray, does the same thing! Take your mixture and plop it on the paper and make it into a flat bread shape. Bake at 450 for about 20-25 minutes, until the edges start getting golden. Take it out when done and set aside. You can make all of your pesto and prep your veggies while it cooks.

Ingredients for the toppings:

Really, you can top it with whatever you want, but to add extra veggie, antioxidant power, I topped mine with homemade pesto, cherry tomatoes, broccolini and goat chevre.

Pesto:

  • 2 cups arugula
  • 1 cup fresh spinach
  • olive oil (the amount used will depend on your pesto, generally 1/4 cup is about right)
  • 1 tablespoon almond butter
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 clove garlic

Other yummies:

  • cherry tomatoes
  • brocclini
  • goat chevre

For the Pesto, take the spinach, arugula, pepper, almond butter and garlic in the food processor, pulse and slowly drizzle in your olive oil to emulsify the flavors. Stop the olive oil when it’s at the desired texture. Taste, add more salt or pepper if needed. NOTE: you’ll noticed I didn’t add the salt when I first pulsed it, that’s because almond butter can sometimes be a little salty, so add the salt after you’ve tasted it.

Spread your yummy pesto, a nice hearty portion, all over the pizza “crust.” Have your other veggies washed and prepped; i.e. the stems cut from the broccolini, the cherry tomatoes halved….etc. Take the broccolini and tomatoes and evenly cover the pesto. Then knob off some lovely lumps of goat chevre and top it all off with fresh ground black pepper.

Bake at 450 for ten minutes, then bring the oven down to 350 degrees and watch as the broccolini crisps and roasts and the tomatoes cook and shrivel. The goat cheese also melts and gets a little golden brown. I like my broccolini roasted, but green. Take it out, let it cool a minute (it doesn’t take long since it’s a veg crust), cut and EAT! YUM!

NOTE: remember, this isn’t ACTUAL crust, so the edges will be nice and crispy, but it still will be a pliable, doughy kinds of thing. Lik a frittata type crust. You’ll love it, though! ALSO, use whatever veggies/meat you want, or pizza sauce, or better yet, make your own pizza sauce….hmm….another idea for a blog post???

Leave a Reply

Cinderle's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

chicagoplayproject

Just another WordPress.com site

oliveyounannyblog

Just another WordPress.com site

In Pitch

Words from a working girl

ProKine Performance

Move like a PRO.

Fit For Real Life

Body. Mind. Movement.

