30 years and some cuppy cakes

8 Sep

WOW. I’m 30! I can’t believe it. What an amazing 30 years this has been. I can’t believe that yesterday, September 7th, 30 years ago, I was born at 2 lbs., 9 ounces and about 3+ months premature. From what I hear, I was supposed to be born around Christmas. It’s amazing that I am here everyday and for some odd reason, this 30th birthday has really made me reflect on what I am thankful for and how lucky I am. I have a great family, great friends and great puppies. I’m extremely lucky. The last 30 years have been a bit of a rollercoaster, lots of twists, turns, ups and downs, but I keep reminding myself that if I keep working extremely hard and keep going for my goals, I’ll make it. I already have one year of graduate school under my belt, 2 more to go and I can work and cuddle with babies FOREVER!

I was really lucky yesterday to get to spend my birthday with one of my parents, my Dad, which never happens. I never see my parents on my birthday since we all live all over the country, so that was awesome. Then I got to make all KINDS of new friends as my best friend Kelly and I celebrated her birthday as well as my birthday. It was one of the best birthdays I have ever had. I can’t believe how much love poured out to me right when it was the perfect timing. That universe, it works in mysterious way. Speaking of love, this brings me to cupcakes. Who DOESN’T LOVE cupcakes on their birthday!? Particularly, ooey gooey, gluten free, pumpkiny, gingerbready cupcakes!?

Well, I decided to try out a new recipe for these birthday cupcakes and it was SUPER easy and everyone went crazy for these! I sent the boy to work with some and his office said they were the best cupcakes they ever had! Not to toot my own horn, but I also make the best variations of cream cheese frosting EVER. People tell me they can eat it by the bag full!

PUMPKIN GINGERBREAD GLUTEN FREE CUPPY CAKES

Ingredients for cupcake batter:

  • 1/2 stick of butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup sugar (I like the organic cane sugar, it’s pure and simple)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1.5 teaspoons vanilla extract PLUS 1 vanilla bean
  • 1 can of organic pumpkin (I used to pumpkin pie pumpkin because it added extra flavor, but plain is fine since we’ll add more)
  • 1 package of PAMELA’s gluten free vanilla cake (this is rice flour and potato starch, baking powder and salt, all together already so no need to buy ALL of those flours! She really makes it easy. She also sells bags of gluten free flour and all kinds of stuff, which is really handy so you don’t have to buy xanthum gum, potato starch, rice flour, almond flour….etc. because they are expensive!)
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger (Penzey’s is the best. Frankly their the best for ALL spices!)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon allspice
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

Ingredients for frosting:

  • 1/4 cup white chocolate pieces
  • 1/2 cup soft, room temperature butter
  • 4 cups powdered sugar (possibly more if your frosting isn’t thick enough)
  • 1 cup cold cream cheese (right out of the fridge)
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 vanilla bean
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla bean extract

Let the fun begin:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. This is an easy one, so unlike most cake recipes, just literally dump all of the ingredients in the bowl for the batter and mix! Can you believe it? Told you it was easy! Then line your muffin tins with fun papers and scoop batter into them, filling them 3/4 of the way high. Gluten free cupcakes do not rise as high as regular cupcakes, so filling them a little higher is fine.

Bake at 350 degrees for 20-35 minutes. You’ll be able to tell when a toothpick comes out clean; each oven is different so temperatures vary.

For the frosting, mix together the butter and sugar for about 3 minutes until creamed together well. Add the cream cheese, by pinching off pieces of the cold cream cheese, vanilla and maple syrup and continue to mix. You want to frosting to be almost like stiff peaks, so if you need to add more sugar go on ahead!

Now here’s the easy part, after the cupcakes cool, fold down a gallon sized freezer bag and scoop the frosting into it. get it all into one corner and twist the bag like a pastry bag, cut off the tip and WALA! your own pastry bag! Now, if you want to mess with pastry bags and tips, go on ahead, but this is an easy to frost without using those. To frost, I start at the edge and circle around to then make a little round mountain of frosting. Sprinkle with nutmeg if desired.

EAT UP and try to share, please!

4 Responses to “30 years and some cuppy cakes”

  1. Kate Galliett September 9, 2012 at 12:46 am #

    That frosting DOES sound amazing!!!! I’m determined to cook & bake more this fall/winter and I plan to use your blog’s recipes so thanks in advance!
    I’ll tell you, it wasn’t till 30 that I started getting some perspective like it sounds like you’re getting now. You just start realizing how amazing it is to have come into the world, and that you have something to contribute that no one else can. Enjoy it! The 30s are wonderful!!

  2. kathy September 10, 2012 at 2:56 am #

    They look great! I can’t wait to try the recipe!

    • cupcakebella September 10, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

      thanks, Kathy!!!! Happy baking!

  3. cupcakebella September 10, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

    Kate, it is. I’m telling you, I’m the queen of cream cheese frosting 🙂 And you need a treat every once in awhile, especially if it’s delicious pumpkin and antioxidants like cinnamon!

Leave a Reply

Cinderle's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

chicagoplayproject

Just another WordPress.com site

oliveyounannyblog

Just another WordPress.com site

In Pitch

Words from a working girl

ProKine Performance

Move like a PRO.

Fit For Real Life

Body. Mind. Movement.

